Day: April 9, 2018

How long couples need to live together in Georgia to be considered a common law marriage

The only US states that still recognize common law marriage areAlabama, Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Montana, Rhode Island, SouthCarolina, Texas and Utah. (New Hampshire sorta does, but only forpurposes of probate.) Georgia stopped recognizing them on January 1, 1997, so no numberof years of living together will render a couple “married”